Skip To Content

School Safety Champions

School Safety Champions selected for 2019
Posted on 01/09/2020
Director of Health Services Julie Wilken receives awardEach year the Department of School Safety nominates and votes for a School Safety Champion of the Year.  This year we had a two-way tie and because the two chosen as recipients are so incredibly important to the work of school safety  - we are excited to honor to announce that this year’s recipients are:

Community Superintendent Eric Everding
Director of Health Services Julie Wilken

Eric Everding

Eric Everding - Community SuperintendentThe leadership, guidance and sense making that Eric provides each andevery day is truly remarkable. His work with the District Threat Assessment Team is critically important to the safety of students across the District.  

Eric has set the standard for many years with a belief and management philosophy that every student deserves a safe school in which to learn and thrive in.  His commitment to this ethos is recognized by educators, law enforcement professionals, and mental health professionals alike. During critical events, Eric is often the "calm in the storm" with the unique ability to prioritize and communicate; always reassuring to those around him.  The Department of School Safety is honored to recognize Eric as 2019 School Safety Champion of the Year.  

Julie Wilken

Julie Wilken accepts Safety Champion AwardJulie Wilken is an outside-the-box thinker and fellow maverick.  For the past year, Julie has partnered with the Department of School Safety to create the nation’s first School Nurse Response Team; integrating nurses with paramedics and fire departments as they respond to critical events at school. 

Julie is leading the way using nurses to train educators and school safety personnel alike in the important Stop the Bleed campaign at every school in the District.  Julie challenges her nurses every day to advocate for the health of students while partnering with Administrators, School Resource Officers, and Campus Supervisors in support of a safe school environment.   The Department of School Safety is recognize Julie as the 2019 School Safety Champion of the Year.  

Thank you Julie and Eric for your commitments to school safety. 

John McDonald
Executive Director
Department of School Safety
Jeffco Public Schools 
Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2023 Intrado Corporation. All rights reserved.